You are using an unsupported browser. Please update your browser to the latest version on or before July 31, 2020.
close
Welcome to the CAREWare FAQ Page
announcement close button
Home > Provider and User Management > Manage Retired Users
Manage Retired Users
print icon

In CAREWare users are retired rather than deleted. CAREWare tracks user activity, storing users' actions in the database. It is vital to retain that information over a long period of time to track any actions users have taken, like deleting or editing records, for potential audits.  When a user account is retired, it remains in the database, linked to the activity for that account.

To retire a user, follow these instructions:

  1. Click Administrative Options.
  2. Click Provider User Manager.
  3. Click Manage Active Users.
  4. Click the user.
  5. Click Manage.
  6. Click Assign Providers.
  7. Uncheck all providers that were selected.
  8. Click Save.

Once a user has been unassigned for all providers, their permissions are revoked and the account is retired.

In some cases, providers prefer to retire users that have been inactive for an extended period of time. CAREWare can automatically retire a user after a specified amount of time has passed.

To set up automatic retirement of user accounts, follow these instructions:

  1. Click Administrative Options.
  2. Click Server Management.
  3. Click Common Storage Values.
  4. Click UserinactivityThreshold.
  5. Click View.
  6. Click Edit.
  7. Change Value(IntegerValue) to a value larger than zero. (Setting the value to 0 turns the feature off.)
  8. Click Save.

In this case, the Value(IntegerValue) was set to 90. This means that if it has been more than 90 days since a user logged into CAREWare, that account is retired.

To exempt users from automatic retirement, follow these instructions:

  1. Click Administrative Options.
  2. Click Provider User Manager.
  3. Click Manage Retired Users.
  4. Click Manage Retirement Exemptions.

  1. Click Add.

  1. Enter a Username or Username Prefix.
  2. Click Save.

Note: If a Username Prefix was entered, check Prefix prior to saving. Prefix can be used to except a group of users with the same prefix in their username.

Feedback
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Attachments

Manage_Retired_Users.pdf
scroll to top icon